Questions from a Noob.

Apr 11, 2009 at 3:05 AM
 Hi

I am new to this MbCompression and I am already pleased with the results that this has given me. So far I was able reduce one page loading time from 100 seconds down to 60seconds(this is at a speed of 56k). So I very happy like that since I have quite a few jquery plugins that I need to use and it made it that I was almost loading up like 700kb of javascript files and css files.

So I am not clear on a couple other things.

"Page compression module"

Does this compress the whole page? How about if I already used this library to compress the javascript files? Does it re compress it again?

I am also using this: http://www.stardeveloper.com/articles/display.html?article=2007110401&page=1

and I am wondering if thie Page compression does the same thing. If it does the same thing then I can get rid of this right?

"WebResourcce.axd compresion module"

I am not sure what this is sued for and I need to use this.

How can I tell how much cpu power is needed? I hear that compression can be cpu intensive.

When should I not be using compression? Like some Css files and there like at 1kb. So would it be worth compressions or would this be a waste of resources?

I have an antimated gif (ajax spinner) and it is like 162kb can I use this to compress that down?